Foundations of Yoga coverFoundations of Yoga

Ten Important Principles Every Meditator Should Know

by Abbot George Burke (Swami Nirmalananda Giri)

An in-depth examination of the important foundation principles of Patanjali’s Yoga: Yama & Niyama

Yama and Niyama are often called the Ten Commandments of Yoga, but they have nothing to do with the ideas of sin and virtue or good and evil as dictated by some cosmic potentate. Rather they are determined by a thoroughly practical, pragmatic basis: that which strengthens and facilitates our yoga practice should be observed and that which weakens or hinders it should be avoided.

It is not a matter of being good or bad, but of being wise or foolish. Each one of these Five Don’ts (Yama) and Five Do’s (Niyama) is a supporting, liberating foundation of Yoga.

Read this to learn about these 10 Foundations:

  • Ahimsa: non-violence, non-injury, harmlessness
  • Satya: truthfulness, honesty
  • Asteya: non-stealing, honesty, non-misappropriativeness
  • Brahmacharya: sexual continence in thought, word and deed as well as control of all the senses
  • Aparigraha: non-possessiveness, non-greed, non-selfishness, non-acquisitiveness
  • Shaucha: purity, cleanliness
  • Santosha: contentment, peacefulness
  • Tapas: austerity, practical (i.e., result-producing) spiritual discipline
  • Swadhyaya: introspective self-study, spiritual study
  • Ishwarapranidhana: offering of one’s life to God


Book Details

  • eBook: 70 pages
  • Publisher: Light of the Spirit Press (February 21, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • Amazon ASIN: B06XMY979G
  • ISBN-13: 978-1507722541
  • eBook pricing: Free

Also available as an ebook from these online distributors:

Apple iBooks Amazon Kindle Smashwords Nook by Barnes & NobleKobo

Would you like to purchase this book at wholesale for bookstores, libraries,
or for other bulk purchases? Visit our Wholesale Page.